March Wrap Up

In the month of March I’ve read 4 books. I’ve read:

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufamn and Jay Kristoff – this book is so overhyped!! Everybody on booktube really like this book, but for me it wasn’t anything new or special. I’ve read in on my Kindle so maybe I lost out on some of the graphic elements of the book. Also this was not my first “collected recollations” book. I’ve read a couple of zombie books that were like this so the whole “it’s so good because it is so different” argument really did nothing for me. The story was pretty simple and the main characters unrealistic and sometimes really annoying. Seeing everything through texts and chat logs made it all seem impersonal. I was hoping for more than hacking conversations and is the AI good or evil. It’s an AI, it’s always going to kill people. Gave it 2 stars on Goodreads.
  2. There once lived a woman who tried to kill her neighbor’s baby: Scary fairytales by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya – this book was part of the Book Riot’s read harder challenge and was for the topic “Read a collection of stories by a woman”. I choose this book because of its title. I didn’t know what it was about and the title just spoke to me. It is a collection of short stories with elements of the supernatural, some are urban legends. The collection had several very interesting and creepy stories which I really enjoyed. I gave the book 3 stars on Goodreads,
  3. Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers – this was also part of Book Riot’s challenge. The topic was “Read a book published between 1900 and 1950”. Everybody knows the story of Mary Poppins from the Disney movie. But the book is different. While reading it I felt as if I was reading a horror story. That part where the main villain is still acting semi-normally right before they go crazy and kill people. You know there is something wrong with them but you can’t put your finger on it. That is Marry Poppins to me. She was very unlikable and I don’t understand why the children missed her at the end.  Gave it two stars on Goodreads.
  4. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – OMG I really liked this one!! It’s my new current YA Fanatasy obsession. It was fast paced, interesting world, interesting magic system, great two main characters with a fantastic friendship, interesting plot. Safi and Merik’s dance at the ball!!! So good! Gave it four start on Goodread.

 

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)        There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor's Baby: Scary Fairy Tales        Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins, #1)       Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)

Leave a Reply

