November WRAP-UP and December TBR

Hello everybody!

So, I’ve read 5 books this month. I’d say that that was a good reading month. So, let’s talk about the books I’ve read.

  1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon 

I started reading this book mid October and finished it at the begining of November. It’s a HUGE book. I gave it 2 stars on Goodreads. For anybody who doesn’t know this book is abour Claire Randall who time travels to 18th century Scotland and meets many interesting people and does things. Anyway, there is a TV show.

I gave this book 2 starts on Goodreads because I found the main character so illogical and freaking crazy. And annoying. There are good things about this book, like the villian, Black Jack Randall is so evil! He’s great. And Jamie Fraiser. I liked him. The rest… meh.

2. Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews

This is book 9 in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. I love this series, it’s one of my favourite urban fantasy series (next to the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher). The covers are always so cheesy and horrible. The lion is her boyfriend.

In this one, Kate and Curran are trying to get married by her evil father is messing things up for them in Atlanta. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.

3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I loved this book! I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. If you’ve seen the movie then you know what this is about. The story is told from three points of view, Skeeter, Aibileen and Minny. Skeeter has just returned from college and is trying to figure her life out, Aibileen is a black maid, a bit bitter at the world after her son’s death and Minny who losses her job after sassing off. The three of them come together to write a book about the help.

This is a great book which deals with so many things: racism, hypocrisy, steretypes… Everybody should read it.

4. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

This classical mindfuck of a book is about a group of young boys who find themselves on an inhabitet island where they try to make rules and survive until they are rescued. And things go to shit from there.

So many great characters, and then deaths and the crazyness!! A great book. Gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.

5. Nemesis by Anne Banks

This book was in the first Fairy Loot book box that I received. This was in the November box where the theme is Rogues and Royals. This is a YA fantasy book about princess Sepora who escapes her evil father and ends up being a slave/attendant to a pharaoh Tariq who just inherited the throne after his father’s death. The thing about Sepora is that she has this special power where she can create a precious metal with her body. Which makes her a person of interest for everybody.

I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads. I wanted this book to be so much more then a typical YA fantasy. The age thing kept bothering me because the characters don’t act according to their age. Sepora is 17, Tariq 18 and they act like adult. Also, Tariq has a 15 year old brother who is described as a freaking Casanova… So yeah…

 

And now to the December TBR.

Hopefully I will finish my two audiobooks: Jim Butcher’s Skin Game (book 15 in the Dresden Files series) and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

Then I am planning on reading 1984 by George Orwell, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, Shanna by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, Gentle Rouge by Johanna Lindsey and Hot Head by Damon Suede.

 

Leave a Reply

